Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Melissa tutors in Falmouth, MA

Melissa P.

Private tutor in Falmouth, MA

5Melissa P.

5 reviews

Education

Ph.D. Candidate in Marine and Atmospheric Sciences at Stony Brook University. Received a Masters in Biological Oceanography from the University of Rhode Island in 2005 (GPA 3.9).

Experience

I am a mature part-time graduate student finishing my PhD while working as a research assistant at Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution. I have a plethora of teaching experience, ranging from public outreach programs and private tutoring for kids of all ages (3-93) to teaching life sciences in a 7th-grade class room and TA-ing college-level courses. I received high marks on the SATs and the GREs and have a wide expanse of math and science knowledge. As a scientist, I use these skills daily and see the importance of students in primary and secondary school systems gaining these valuable skills as well. With my background as an educator, I will be able to use a variety of techniques to patiently work through your son/daughter's academic hurdles and build their confidence in their "weak" subject(s) as well as in school in general.

Availability

Mon/Wed/Fri in the evening, Tues/Thurs in the evening, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

In my spare time, I like to keep physically active. I love animals and currently own a dog and cat (although I have owned quite a few other pets in my lifetime). I love to take my dog for long runs, walks on the beach or rollerblading. I love being outside in the nice weather and love water sports, such as kayaking. As an oceanographer, I spend a fair amount of time on the water and love any day I get to spend on a boat! Another passion of mine is music. I play a variety of musical instruments, as well as dance. I was in the marching band, jazz ensemble and colorguard all throughout my high school and college years. After college, I taught colorguard at a local high school. I love to use the arts as a way of expressing my creative side. I am generally a gregarious, outgoing, fun person to be around.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!